Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Enigma + G17 = cut knuckles?

Enigma + G17 = cut knuckles?

Newbie here. I'm practicing holster draws with my new Phlster Enigma and keep cutting the middle knuckle of the middle finger on my draw hand on either the Enigma's Tegris material or else the edges on the wing. I think I have longish fingers? Do I need to add some backstrap to my G17 (currently running with none) to move my knuckle to the side? Maybe my draw technique is just terrible and I'm doing something fundamentally incorrect?

Holding it like shown below is comfortable to me and is what I'm used to outside the holster. But I end up cutting myself as I try to bury my hand and build that grip. I think the negative feedback is causing me to build a worse grip. Please feel free to constructively critique...

Name:  IMG_20240430_212404693.jpg
Views: 215
Size:  54.3 KB
    Name:  IMG_20240430_212411661_HDR.jpg
Views: 213
Size:  52.5 KB
    Name:  IMG_20240430_212449115.jpg
Views: 212
Size:  33.7 KB
    Name:  IMG_20240430_215115718_HDR.jpg
Views: 213
Size:  71.4 KB

Unfortunately I don't have your exact setup. However I have a JM aiwb 2.0 and tried multiple wings on it (including the one you have) and with everyone I got knuckle crash. I did post it to the board and a few guys said to cut the wing down a little and I think that was sound advice. However, I didn't like the holster style for other reasons and I just got a different style holster that I like better. Oddly, I don't see a lot of people having this issue. Looking to hear what others say though.

Yeah, welcome to the party pal. I’ve a nice callouse right there 😁
    #RESIST

You can take a Dremel with a flap wheel and soften some of the sharper edges. You can apply moleskin, but it's going to come off so unless you really like cleaning off adhesive residue and reapplying it might want to stick with rounding off edges. If you prep and clamp correctly it can last for a good bit.